PROJECTS circle image

Projects

Electrocardiography based acute cardiac diseases detection system

Participants

circle image

Shih-Hua Lin
Adviser

circle image

Chin Lin
Technical PI

circle image

Chin-Sheng Lin
Clinical PI

circle image

Wen-Hui Fang
Community PI

circle image

Shi-Hung Tsai
Emergency PI

circle image

Chia-Cheng Lee
IT manager

circle image

Sy-Jou Chen
Emergency physician

circle image

Wen-Yu Lin
Cardiologist

circle image

Ban-Yen Liu
Cardiologist

circle image

Wen-Cheng Liu
Cardiologist

circle image

Da-Wei Chang
Cardiologist

circle image

Yu-Lan Liu
Cardiologist

circle image

Chiao-Chin Lee
Cardiologist

circle image

Wei-Ting Liu
Cardiologist

circle image

Yu-Cheng Chen
Cardiologist

circle image

Chia-Jung Hsu
Engineer

Summary

Global burden of disease study points out the important role of acute cardiac diseases worldwide. A prompt medical intervention is able to reduce fatal consequences. The mission of this project is to build an innovative system of a real-time ECG monitoring and analysis. Severe dyskalemia and dyscalcemia1,2, myocardial infarction3,4, arrhythmia (includeing Atrial fibrillation、Complete AV block、PSVT、VT/VF5), aortic dissection6, pericarditis7, pulmonary embolism8, pneumothorax9, digoxin toxicity10, and thyrotoxic periodic paralysis11 can be identified with cardiologist-level performance base on our AI platform. These achievements have won several awards, which are also published in peer-review journals and television programs12. Currently, we are starting to plan a randomized controlled trial to validate the advantage of our innovative AI-enhanced clinical process.

Figure 1 | Innovative AI-enhanced clinical process. The ECGs could be real-time and automatically uploaded to the AI platform for autodiagnosis. When AI indicates fatal diseases, a smartphone notification message triggered by AI-based automatic active alarm system would be sent to front-line physicians and the on-duty cardiologist. All the physicians could prepare for subsequent confirmation and management.

Reference:
1npj Digital Medicine, 5(1):8.
2JMIR Med Inform, 8(3):e15931.
3EuroIntervention, 17(9):765-773.
4J Pers Med, 11(11):1149.
5Unpublished data.
6Can J Cardiol, 38(2):160-168.
7J Pers Med, 12(7):1150.
8Unpublished data.
9Eur J Trauma Emerg Surg, https://doi.org/10.1007/s00068-022-01904-3.
10Int J Environ Res Public Health, 18(7), 3839.
11J Endocr Soc, 5(9), bvab120.
12We shared our works to the Discovery.

Algorithm development

Participants

circle image

Chin Lin
Adviser

circle image

Yu-Sheng Luo
PhD student

Summary

Deep learning is a data-driven algorithm, so it is necessary to understand the limitations of medical data and design suitable algorithms to build an accurate medical artificial intelligence system. We consider that main differences between medical field and other fields and solutions are as follows:
1. Unsupervised learning aided supervised learning to solve the rare data problem: Because the medical data involves manual operations and expensive instruments, the amount of labeled data is scarce compared with other industries. Moreover, the incidence and prevalence of more fatel diseases is lower compared with other common diseases. We need to face this important limitation rather than selecting sufficient data for research. Transfer learning is a common solution in deep learning training that can effectively reduce the number of samples required. Our main work is to use a large amount of unlabeled data for unsupervised algorithms, and apply them to supervised learning.1
2. To design special prediction functions and loss functions to solve the problem of missing data: The data source is usually based on observational design in the medical field, so it often faces the missing data problem. For example, the typical follow up cohort will face the problem of right-censored data, and all the tests may not be performed every time. The survival analysis in the statistics gives us a good inspiration. By cutting the data into fine-grained time periods, we effectively use the information of all samples. We apply the masking idea to our sample for deep learning training in conventional medical data. It will solve the gap to directly apply traditional deep learning technology in the medical field.
3. Combination of multi-level statistical models and deep learning to create personalized artificial intelligence: The response of each indivial to the same treatment is different, so it is impossible to use one artificial intelligence models for accurately appling in everyone. Therefore, it is very important to establish a personalized artificial intelligence model, but it is difficult to train each person's data separately in medical field. The multi-level data analysis in statistics shows how to use the distribution assumptions to construct personalized predictions. Even if only one record also can be used to construct a personalized model, our research attempts to apply this concept to deep learning training. The new age medical artificial intelligence can dimamicly revise the prediction results.2
4. Causal relationship learning to confront the interference: Traditional medical researches focus on causality exploration, but the medical AI studies often ignored this issue. Since the powerful feature extraction ability from DLM, current AI often learns the spurious correlations to construct the prediction which reduce the accuracy in future external validation. We designed the matched training strategy to maximize the notable features learning by DLM, which significantly improves the accuracy in many tasks

Figure 2 | DLM training strategy for ECG data. To apply the DLM pre-trained by ImageNet for improving the accuracy is common in medical image analysis. We revolutionarily developed an unsupervised training strategy enhancing the feature extraction ability of DLM in ECGs through patient ID learning. This will improve the model accuracy especially in rare disease detections.

Reference:
1Unpublished data.
2Unpublished data.

Electrocardiography based disease screening platform

Participants

circle image

Chin Lin
Technical PI

circle image

Yu-Juei Hsu
Clinical PI

circle image

Chin-Sheng Lin
Clinical PI

circle image

Wen-Hui Fang
Community PI

circle image

Ping-Huang Tsai
Nephrologist

circle image

Chiao-Hsiang Chang
Cardiologist

circle image

Hung-Yi Chen
Cardiologist

circle image

Chia-Jung Hsu
Engineer

Summary

ECG also provides the information about geometrical aspects of heart-lung-torso, which may stand for the latent cardiovascular status. We have begun to further apply it to potential disease screening, such as left ventricular dysfunction1,2, chronic kidney disease3, diabetes mellitus4, anemia5, heart failure6, liver disease7, valvular heart disease8, and abnormal cardiac structure9,10, etc. In addition, we have also developed the heart health indicators, such as body fat11, mortality risk12, and heart age13, which can be used to predict the cardiovascular outcomes with the better performance. Based on these results, the ECG is considered to have the hidden information of not being recognized by human experts. This project is try to discover more application potentials of ECG for community screening.

Reference:
1J Pers Med, 12(3):455.
2Front Med, 9:870523.
3Unpublished data.
4J Pers Med, 11(8):725.
5Unpublished data.
6Unpublished data.
7Front Cardiovasc Med, 9:895201.
8Unpublished data.
9J Pers Med, 12(2):315.
10Unpublished data.
11Unpublished data.
12Unpublished data.
13Front Cardiovasc Med, 9:754909.

Medical image analysis

Participants

circle image

Chin Lin
Adviser

circle image

Yi-Ying Wu
Hematologist

circle image

Dung-Jang Tsai
Research fellow

circle image

Yu-Sheng Luo
PhD student

circle image

Ying-Chu Chen
MS student

circle image

Xin-An Lin
Engineer

circle image

Yu-Cheng Chen
Cardiologist

circle image

Hao-Chun Liao
BS student

Summary

Machine learning has seen some dramatic developments recently, leading to a lot of interest from industry, academia and popular culture. These are driven by breakthroughs in artificial neural networks, often termed deep learning, a set of techniques and algorithms that enable computers to discover complicated patterns in large data sets. Feeding the breakthroughs is the increased access to data (“big data”), user-friendly software frameworks, and an explosion of the available compute power, enabling the use of neural networks that are deeper than ever before. These models nowadays form the state-of-the-art approach to a wide variety of problems in computer vision, language modeling and robotics. Deep learning rose to its prominent position in computer vision when neural networks started outperforming other methods on several high-profile image analysis benchmarks. Most famously on the ImageNet Large-Scale Visual Recognition Challenge (ILSVRC) in 2012 when a deep learning model (a convolutional neural network) halved the second best error rate on the image classification task. Enabling computers to recognize objects in natural images was until recently thought to be a very difficult task, but by now convolutional neural networks have surpassed even human performance on the ILSVRC, and reached a level where the ILSVRC classification task is essentially solved (i.e. with error rate close to the Bayes rate). Deep learning techniques have become the de facto standard for a wide variety of computer vision problems. Healthcare providers generate and capture enormous amounts of data containing extremely valuable signals and information, at a pace far surpassing what “traditional” methods of analysis can process. Machine learning therefore quickly enters the picture, as it is one of the best ways to integrate, analyze and make predictions based on large, heterogeneous data sets. Recently, we have developed an object detection model for bone marrow smear interpretation1. The chest X-ray can also be used in cardiovascular diesaese diagnosis, such as heart failure detection2, etc.

Reference:
1JMIR Med Inform, 8(4):e15963.
2Can J Cardiol, S0828-282X(22)00004-6.

Medical Natural Language Processing

Participants

circle image

Chin Lin
Adviser

circle image

Wen-Hui Fang
Clinical expert

circle image

Dung-Jang Tsai
Research fellow

circle image

Yu-Sheng Luo
PhD student

circle image

Xin-An Lin
Engineer

Summary

Automated extrating structured medical information methods are increasingly being researched because of the increasing volume and accessibility of electronic medical data. However, it is difficult to use because more than 80% information is hidden in free-text clinical narratives. The current methods for collecting this structured information usually involve manual identification, but manual identification of disease codes from free-text clinical narratives is laborious and costly. The traditional document classification algorithm is to use bag-of-words models and machine learning meclassifiers, such as SVM and Random Forest. However, it is not really accurate and cannot face emerging diseases. Our team has developed an automatic disease classification approach by word embedding combining convolutional neural network, and it increases 30% performance compared with traditional methods1. Moreover, it can handle emerging disease issue by external vocabulary resources. We can obtain more data-driven clues by Artificial Intelligence to help promote the progress of medicine. The health care field will then truly enter the age of big data2.This technology was also applied in the medical record scoring system3.

Reference:
1J Med Internet Res, 19(11):e380.
2JMIR Med Inform, 7(3):e14499.
3Healthcare, 9(10):1298.

研究方向 circle image

研究方向

急性心臟疾病心電圖快速檢測平台

參與者

circle image

林石化
上級指導員

circle image

林嶔
技術負責人

circle image

林錦生
臨床負責人

circle image

方文輝
社區負責人

circle image

蔡適鴻
急診負責人

circle image

李家政
資訊部部長

circle image

陳思州
急診科醫師

circle image

林文裕
心臟科醫師

circle image

劉邦彥
心臟科醫師

circle image

劉文正
心臟科醫師

circle image

張大為
心臟科醫師

circle image

劉郁嵐
心臟科醫師

circle image

李喬晉
心臟科醫師

circle image

劉威廷
心臟科醫師

circle image

陳郁政
心臟科醫師

circle image

許家榮
工程師

概述

心臟疾病是全球最重要的公共衛生議題,其中心因性猝死更是非常需要解決的問題。心電圖可以用來即時的診斷大多數的心因性病因,從而讓醫師能夠提供正確有效的介入手段以避免隨後的猝死事件。 目前我們的人工智慧平台在嚴重血鉀及血鈣異常1,2、心肌梗塞3,4、心律不整(包含Atrial fibrillation、Complete AV block、PSVT、VT/VF等5)、 主動脈剝離6、心包膜炎7、肺栓塞8、氣胸9、毛地黃中毒10和甲狀腺周期性麻痺11的診斷上都能達到專業心臟科醫師以上的準確度。 這些成果亦獲得Discovery的訪問以介紹給國際觀眾12。目前,我們開始計劃進行隨機對照試驗,以驗證我們創新的AI 增強臨床流程的優勢

Figure 1 | 創新的AI 增強臨床流程。 目前在我們的系統中心電圖可以即時自動上傳到人工智能平台進行自動診斷。當人工智能發現致命疾病時,自動警報系統將觸發的智能手機簡訊服務,以通知第一線醫生和值班的心臟科醫師。 所有的醫生都可以為後續的確認和管理做好準備。

Reference:
1npj Digital Medicine, 5(1):8.
2JMIR Med Inform, 8(3):e15931.
3EuroIntervention, 17(9):765-773.
4J Pers Med, 11(11):1149.
5Unpublished data.
6Can J Cardiol, 38(2):160-168.
7J Pers Med, 12(7):1150.
8Unpublished data.
9Eur J Trauma Emerg Surg, https://doi.org/10.1007/s00068-022-01904-3.
10Int J Environ Res Public Health, 18(7), 3839.
11J Endocr Soc, 5(9), bvab120.
12We shared our works to the Discovery.

演算法開發

參與者

circle image

林嶔
指導老師

circle image

羅宇昇
博士生

概述

深度學習是一種數據驅動的演算法,因此必須了解醫療數據的限制並設計合適的演算法才能建立準確的醫療人工智慧系統,我們認為醫學資料與其他場域主要差異及解決方案如下:
1. 以無監督學習輔助監督學習以解決資料稀少問題:醫療產業因為涉及人工操作及昂貴的儀器設備,相比於其他產業其具有標註之資料量稀少;除此之外,越致命的疾病其盛行率通常也越低,然而其相較於其他常見疾病又更為重要,這導致我們必須面對這個重要的限制而非選擇數據足夠的研究。轉移特徵學習是深度學習中被認為可以有效降低模型訓練所需樣本數的技術,我們的主要方向就是利用大量的無標註資料進行無監督演算法,並將學習結果應用於監督學習之上1
2. 設計特殊的預測函數及損失函數解決遺失資料問題:在醫學領域中其資料來源通常為觀察性設計,因此經常會面對遺失資料的問題,如典型的世代追蹤研究會面臨右設限資料問題,及每次追蹤可能不會進行所有檢驗。統計模型中的存活分析給了我們很好的啟發,透過將資料切割成細碎時間段的處理方式有效利用所有樣本的資訊,我們將其遮罩樣本的精神應用於常規醫學數據的深度學習模型訓練,將能解決傳統深度學習直接應用於醫療場域上的困境。
3. 結合多層次統計模型與深度學習創造個人化人工智慧模型:每個人面對相同治療的反應都不一樣,因此同一套人工智慧模型很難對所有人都有準確的結果,因此建立個人化的人工智慧模型相當重要,但每個人的資料又很難單獨訓練一個人工智慧模型。統計學中的多層次資料分析展示了如何利用分布假設建構個人化預測,即使僅用一筆資料都有辦法建構個人化模型,我們的研究嘗試將這個概念應用至深度學習訓練之中,讓我們的醫學人工智慧系統能滾動式修正預測結果2
4. 深度因果關係學習以加強外部驗證準確度:傳統醫學研究非常重視因果關係探索,但醫學人工智慧研究往往忽略了這個問題。 由於深度學習模型強大的特徵提取能力,當前的 AI 經常學習虛假相關性來建立預測邏輯,這將降低未來外部驗證的準確性。 我們設計了配對訓練策略來最大化深度學習模型所抽取的高階特徵的因果性,這顯著地提高了許多任務的準確性
Figure 2 | 針對心電圖系統的深度學習模型訓練策略。 應用 ImageNet 作為預訓練的資源提升深度學習模型在醫學影像分析中是很常見的,但目前在心電圖研究上缺乏相關資源。我們開發了一種無監督的訓練策略,通過患者身分識別開始,從而增強了深度學習模型對心電圖的特徵抽取能力。 這將大幅提高模型的準確性,尤其是在罕見疾病檢測中。

Reference:
1Unpublished data.
2Unpublished data.

慢性無症狀疾病心電圖篩檢平台

參與者

circle image

林嶔
技術負責人

circle image

許育瑞
臨床負責人

circle image

林錦生
臨床負責人

circle image

方文輝
社區負責人

circle image

蔡炳煌
腎臟科醫師

circle image

張喬翔
心臟科醫師

circle image

陳宏毅
心臟科醫師

circle image

許家榮
工程師

概述

心電圖除了記錄心臟的電氣活動之外,還可能提供有關心肺軀幹幾何方面的資訊,這可能代表個人的潛在心血管狀態。我們已經開始將其進一步應用於潛在疾病篩查,例如左心室功能障礙1,2、慢性腎臟病3、糖尿病4、貧血5、心衰竭6、肝臟問題7以及一些瓣膜疾病8與心臟結構異常9,10等。 此外,我們還基於心電圖開發出了一些心臟健康指標,像是體脂率11、死亡風險預測12以及心臟年齡評估工具13。與實際年齡相比,心臟年齡預測未來心血管結果的準確度更高。基於這些結果,心電圖被認為存在未被人類專家識別的隱藏信息。本項目希望更進一步開發心電圖在社區篩檢中的應用潛力。

Reference:
1J Pers Med, 12(3):455.
2Front Med, 9:870523.
3Unpublished data.
4J Pers Med, 11(8):725.
5Unpublished data.
6Unpublished data.
7Front Cardiovasc Med, 9:895201.
8Unpublished data.
9J Pers Med, 12(2):315.
10Unpublished data.
11Unpublished data.
12Unpublished data.
13Front Cardiovasc Med, 9:754909.

醫學影像分析

參與者

circle image

林嶔
指導老師

circle image

吳宜穎
血腫科醫師

circle image

蔡東樟
研究員

circle image

羅宇昇
博士生

circle image

陳映竹
碩士生

circle image

林信安
工程師

circle image

陳郁政
心臟科醫師

circle image

廖浩鈞
大學生

概述

機器學習最近取得了一些爆炸性的發展,引起了各領域的極大興趣。這些是由人工神經網絡的突破推動的,人工神經網絡通常稱為深度學習,這是一組技術和算法,使計算機能夠發現大型數據集中的複雜模式。推動突破的基礎是大量的標註數據及計算能力的爆炸式增長,從而能夠使用比以往更深的神經網絡。如今,這些模型是解決計算機視覺、語言建模和機器人技術中各種問題的最先進方法。當神經網絡開始在幾個備受矚目的圖像分析競賽中上優於其他方法時,深度學習在計算機視覺中開始佔據了主導地位。 最著名的深度學習突破是 發生在2012 年的 ImageNet 大規模視覺識別挑戰賽 (ILSVRC),當時深度學習模型(卷積神經網絡)在圖像分類任務中比第二名有誇張的準確度優勢。醫療保健系統提供了大量有價值的標註和大量數據,因此非常適合用深度學習在這上面發展電腦診斷輔助系統。最近,我們開發了一種用於骨髓塗片判讀的物件識別模型,並達到主治醫師等級的準確度1。現在胸部X光也可以用來輔助心臟疾病的診斷,像是心臟衰竭的偵測等2

Reference:
1JMIR Med Inform, 8(4):e15963.
2Can J Cardiol, S0828-282X(22)00004-6.

醫學自然語言處理

Participants

circle image

林嶔
指導老師

circle image

方文輝
臨床專家

circle image

蔡東樟
研究員

circle image

羅宇昇
博士生

circle image

林信安
工程師

概述

隨著病歷電子化的進程我們已紀錄了大量的醫療資訊,如能妥善地利用這些醫療資訊將能促成醫學的進步。然而這些資訊大多是以文字、影像等非結構化的方式儲存,從而大大增加了利用的困難度。疾病編碼是將文字紀錄轉換為結構化資訊的重要方法,而目前常規的方式是透過疾病分類師進行這類工作,然而人工進行這項工作不但低效且昂貴。傳統的文檔分類演算法是透過詞袋模型加上SVM、隨機森林等分類器進行分類,但有著準確度低且無法處理新興疾病的問題(因舊有詞袋中不包含新型疾病的關鍵詞)。我們在這裡結合了word embedding技術以及卷積神經網路,發展了一個特殊的網路結構及訓練方式適應疾病分類任務的型態,研究中也發現新的人工智慧模型比原有方法更加準確1,並且能透過外部語意資源獲取未曾於歷史病歷中見過單字的意思,這大大增加了在未來這個任務中利用人工智慧取代密集勞動力的可能性2。相關技術亦應用於病歷書寫評分3

Reference:
1J Med Internet Res, 19(11):e380.
2JMIR Med Inform, 7(3):e14499.
3Healthcare, 9(10):1298.